ALL Jet Ski (PWC=Personal Water Craft) operators
complete a NYS Safe Boating Class.
You must hold a NYS Boater Safety Certificate
You operate a personal watercraft, regardless of your age, in New
You wish to operate a motorboat (including personal watercraft)
and you are at least 10 years old and less than 18 years
If you are
less 10 years old you may operate a motorboat (non-PWC) only
if someone over 18 or someone between the ages of 10 and 18 who holds
a safety certificate, is on board with you.
Anyone may operate a personal watercraft if someone
at least 18 years old is riding on the craft and they
hold a safety certificate.
NEW YORK STATE BOATING RULES OF
A PWC is subject to all the laws that motor boat operators must follow,
as well as:
You may not ride within 500 feet of a marked swim area except when
going directly to or from a launch site. Speed is restricted to 10 MPH.
In New York State, speed is limited to 5 MPH when
within 100 feet of the shore, a dock, pier, raft, float, or an
anchored or moored boat.
You may not ride between sunset and sunrise and times of restricted
Weaving in and out of traffic, jumping boat wakes, splashing others
is dangerous and illegal.
- You must carry your boating safety certificate on board.
Safety - NYS Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
New York State Boating Course manual
To report a violation of these rules, call the State Police
in Gouverneur. 287-2311